What’s the greatest movie ever made?

As I tend to love old movies more than anything else, on any given day my opinion of the greatest movie ever made is likely to vacillate between Vertigo, Citizen Kane, and The Rules of the Game.  As for runner’s up, Duck Soup, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Sabrina, the Searchers, Le Jour le Seve, Metropolis, M, Annie Hall, and the original Star Wars trilogy come to mind.  My knowledge of movies past 1985 is deficient though, which is odd because ’85 is the year I was born.  If you think I’ve made a big error, or if my choices are too dated or pretentious, please list your favorite movie(s) in the comments box and I’ll try and watch your suggestions and reconsider.

2 thoughts on “What’s the greatest movie ever made?

  1. I wouldn’t necessarily say any of the following are “the greatest movies ever made,” because I don’t feel like I’ve seen enough movies to make a call like that. However, if you are looking for some spectacular offerings of contemporary cinema post 1985, here are my picks that spring to mind.

    The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
    Atonement
    Downfall
    Inception
    Amelie
    An Education

    Again, not essentially classics, but these are my personal favourites of the past decade.

Leave a Reply

