Question for people who read a lot.

I’ve decided over the summer I’m going to try my best and branch out and read novels and authors that I wouldn’t normally gravitate towards.  I think as readers we too often find a literary niche and then spend years residing there.  I’d like to give other things a shot.  I’m already a book reviewer for the Portland Book Review Quarterly, so this summer I’ve been assigned to read Home Fires, The Aleboy’s Feast, The Berlin Stories, and Ha Jin’s new book, Nanjing Requiem.  On top of that, I’m behind on book’s I was supposed to finish last month, including a bio on Yuri Gregarin and a book by Anne Lamott that my mom already told me was extremely boring.  Despite all of that, I’d still like to read more, and am looking for suggestions.  If there’s a book you simply feel I must read, write it in the comment box and sooner or later I’ll try to squeeze it in.

To help clarify things, here’s a list of authors I’ve already read a lot of, so you don’t need to include their works: Paul Auster, Martin Amis, F. Scott Fitzgerald, William Faulkner, James Joyce, Henry James, Saul Bellow, Virginia Woolf, Edith Wharton, Vladimir Nabokov, Ernest Hemingway, David Foster Wallace, Leo Tolstoy, John Banville, and Michael Chabon.  Of the genre writers, I’ve already read a lot of George R.R. Martin, James M. Cain, Philip K. Dick, Samuel R. Delaney, J. R. R. Tolkien, and Ray Bradbury.  I especially want to read more Sci-Fi and fantasy, so if you’re an avid reader of those, list a couple.

Also, if you watch a lot of movies, help me out in deciding what the best film ever made is by clicking here.

If you want to answer another question for this site, click here.

If you’re someone who likes to review new books, help me  out by clicking here.

To read a similar question involving giant books, click here.

click here to look at my book The Madness of Art: Short Stories

Leave a Reply

