Favorite Wacky Old Book Covers, Part 3.

These are the last of my wacky book covers series that I’ll post for a while.  When I come across more books in the future, I’ll post them, but for now, enjoy these old gems.  The last one is the absolute weirdest one I own.

James Thurber IllustrationAnything involving anthropomorphic animals catches my attention (I even watched Howard the Duck), and that’s what drew me to the stories by the comedic author James Thurber (you might recognize some of his work from old New York Times magazines).  I can’t help but love this cartoony pic of a saturnine dog (who looks a bit like Thurber himself).

Speaking of dogs…

Kurt Vonnegut bookThe Kurt Vonnegut Jr. book Mother Night does feature a Nazi propagandist as well as a dachsund, but having the propagandist riding an enormous weiner dog (unless hes’ supposed to be a tiny man) is an inspired touch.

This next one is my wackiest book cover.  I don’t know if I’ll be able to top this one…

Sci-Fi book cover artI really did read this book by the way, and it wasn’t bad.  Brian Aldiss is a fine writer, but I wonder why his book covers were so wacky?  The cover to his Frankenstein Unbound made the list earlier in part 1.

See the pics from Part 1.

See the pics from Part 2.

I have published my own book of fiction titled The Madness of Art: Short Stories. It includes eight tales about the world of art, focusing on the creative process and the conflicts it gives rise to. The stories themselves vary from fantasy to sci-fi to coming-of-age to melancholic romance. It is available on Amazon as well as Barnes and Noble as an ebook and as a paperback.

Cover to the new ebook The Madness of art: short stories

One thought on “Favorite Wacky Old Book Covers, Part 3.

  1. I’m struggling to grasp why anyone would write a novel with the word “saliva” in the title, but it’s definitely off the charts on the wacky-o-meter. Then again, there are plenty of books with “blood” in he title so perhaps it’s time that other bodily fluids received their due.

Leave a Reply

