Story Time With Corey: My Short Story ‘What Irony’ Read Aloud

It’s kind of funny how the idea for this video came about.  I published my book The Madness of Art: Short Stories online in June, and I found out about a week ago that a friend of mine I’ve known for ten years hadn’t bothered to read it yet.  He was about to go on a long road trip, so I–not realizing just what I was gettting into–thought I could pigeon hole him into liking my book by saying I could create an audio-book style recording and put it on a disc, thus giving him not much of an opportunity to avoid my book even longer.  Like I said, I didn’t realize what I was getting into.  For some reason, I thought this would be easier than it was.  I didn’t expect, for one thing, that my story What Irony, when read aloud, would go on for 40 minutes.  I went ahead and recorded the whole thing on my computer, and decided to make the most of it I’d also upload it online.  I’ll release the whole recording in installments in the coming days.  Here’s the first 5 minutes.

The story is sort of a mystery/thriller with a satirical edge.  It’s about a painter of Americana in the 1950s who decides to move to Greenwich Village, not realizing the place is full of leftists and beatniks.  Inexplicably, he’s drawn into a crime.  Listen to find out more.

If you want to read all of What Irony plus seven other stories, please purchase my book The Madness of Art: Short Stories on Amazon or Barnesandnoble.com.

Leave a Reply

