Some Tips on Keeping Yourself Entertained While Job Searching

I think most people can agree that job searching is one of the worst and most agitating processes out there, outside of turning in paperwork or going to court. There’s thousands of guides online that tell you how to effectively search for jobs, and how to optimize your application, but one thing I haven’t seen touched on much is how to keep yourself from wallowing in despair or from feeling miserable.

Job searching, frankly, is a pretty miserable state of affairs. You might spend an entire hour out of your day filling out long, boring, pointless forms online only to never hear back from the employer. Or you’ll put yourself out there only to be told, in a roundabout way, you’re just not good enough. I can understand why so many people seem to just give up and resort to peddling on the street: at least that way you’re directly communicating with people.

What qualifies me? I’ve been applying for a lot of jobs lately, in fact, I have actually applied for 14 today. Surprisingly, today wasn’t all that bad.

If you feel like following my adventures job searching, you can follow me on twitter or through the Facebook page I threw together specifically for my job search.

Facebook page for my job search

Anyways, if applying for jobs gets you down, consult the tips here and hopefully the process won’t be so excruciating.

1) Important thing to remember: A lot of the jobs you’re applying for will likely never get back to you. People are applying for open positions like crazy. There’s a lot of competition right now. If you use worksource, it will tell you how many people have looked at the job you’re viewing. Today, I saw that there were more than a thousand people interested in a janitor position. Also, I think some companies are just plain negligent. So, because your application might never be seen, I’d recommend not spending more than an hour on it. If you do, you’re probably over-thinking it. The exception would be if you’re applying for some high echelon position, but if you’re just applying for entry level stuff, you should only be spending about 40 minutes on it.

2) Turn on some music: Music might distract you from what you’re doing, but that’s good, you need distraction. Some applications are incredibly degrading, asking questions like “Are you happy all of the time” or “Do you prefer to go out instead of stay in?” You’ll need music to smooth things out. I’d recommend you either pick out a good album or turn on Pandora. If you’re obsessing over each song you listen to, you might not get much accomplished at all. Today while I was job searching I queued up Woody Guthrie on Pandora and heard a lot of songs I’ve never heard before, so now, even if none of my applications make it, I’ll still have accomplished something.

3) Take short breaks: The key word is short. If you take a long break, you might not want to start job searching again at all. At the same time, you don’t want to stress yourself out too much by doing it too long. I find it’s best to just watch a half-hour comedy–nothing too serious. I’ve been watching tons of Futurama recently while job searching.

4) Look for funny things while job searching: Some employers are just plain ridiculous. They include questions at the end that are complete nonsense like “How often is it okay to steal from an employer? 1 time a week, 2, etc.” when it’s obvious they’re looking for zero. I once applied for a job where it asked “When you smoke marijuana, you do it A) at home to relax B) on the drive home from work or C) while at work.” Who would answer C? Here’s something I saw on Craigslist while job searching:

5) Important! Don’t get too upset if some place doesn’t hire you! It’s easy to fall into a rut while job searching, especially if you went through the whole interview process but didn’t get the job. You might be wondering what’s wrong with you, or what they thought of you, or what you should fix about yourself. We give employers too much credit much of the time. It’s very possible they weren’t thinking at all, or that they gave the job to a relative, or they interviewed so many people they forgot you, and in some cases, they might just be racist. Anyways, if you don’t get the job, do your best to forget about it. You’re not doing yourself any favors by letting it get you down.

No matter what politicians might say, the unemployed are people too, and valuable ones at that.

I hope these tips will assist you if you’re job searching. As I said earlier, please check out the new FB site and follow me on Twitter.

I’ve got a book out of fiction called The Madness of Art: Short Stories available on Amazon and through Barnes and Noble.

 

Leave a Reply

