New Funny Video Based on Public Domain Photos

I’ve been playing with this idea for a while now: take a random selection of old, public domain photos and use them as the basis of a short story. I’m not choosing the photos to go along with the story–the opposite in fact, is the case. The challenge is to take the photos from different points in history and base the story off of them. This is how I came up with the script to my new video, “Tales of the Common Folk, Ep. 1: When The Motorcars Come to Town.”

The photos were taken entirely from the Flickr Commons, a site devoted to sharing photos that have either copyrights that have lapsed, or were never properly copyrighted in the first place. The music playing at the start and finish is taken from a public domain folk-blues song called The Humdinger, I think (can’t remember now–can any traditional-music purists help me out?).

Everything else in the video I supplied, from the writing to the editing to the slightly off-kilter narration. It’s hard enough trying to sound like a middle-aged woman, but then add to that a provencial Scottish accent…

Anyways, here’s the end product itself. Hope you enjoy this video, and if you do, please share it.

For more by me, follow me on Facebook.

Also, check out my fiction novel A Rapturous Occasion, available in paperback and as an ebook.

 

Leave a Reply

